Genuine.

Image
If there’s one word to describe the people I love most in the world, it’s genuine.

I’m privileged to have such a variety of friendships: over my lifetime so far, I have known and loved my school friends, travellers, bloggers, hippies, designers, hysterical college students, sarcastic middle-class middle-agers: all much more unique and multi-layered than any label or first impression could ever describe. They’re all individuals, all with completely different stories and values and perspectives, but with one thing in common: authenticity.

I don’t know what makes a person genuine, or how to be genuine. I spend half my time wondering if I’m actually, truly being genuine.  But I’m convinced that that’s all I really look for in a person. The people I love the most are genuine. They are honest with themselves, and the rest of the world. Sure, they might be the most flawed, obnoxious or strange people I’ve ever met- they might not have long list of standout talents or achievements, and maybe there’s times when I just can’t pinpoint why I love you so goddamned much, but if someone embraces and loves themselves- their true selves, then sure, I can almost guarantee I will too. 

Well, thanks for reading my ramblings! That’s just me though. What do you guys think? I’d love to know; maybe you can tell me just what it is that makes a person genuine.
Until next time,
Amy, xo

Leave a Reply!

