DIY: Criss-Cross Flags

Image

Living in a dorm room has its limitations. Like not being able to paint the (green) walls, or sleeping less than two feet away from my desk, wardrobe AND shelves. So on the day that I arrived, armed with red bunting leftover from Christmas 2012 (baaaadd idea), I knew there was a lot of work to be done if I wanted to have a room that looked like a design student actually lived there.

Image
But I’ve always liked a challenge.

The red had to go, for starters. Then I picked some happier, more relaxed colours and got to work.

Image
So far, this is my favourite area. I’ve added found objects like that bottle and a Y shaped stick (now I just need the A and M), a sweet flower, my 365 photos (yes, that’s where they all end up going, in case you ever wondered) and my DIY criss-cross flags, in all their glory. I’m a little proud of myself, and the difference it’s making to my room.

So here’s how I made the bunting:

Image
1/ Pick out your fabrics and cut them (I used pinking shears) into random-sized rectangles. 2/ Make a template of whatever shape you want to stamp onto them, and 3/ remember potato stamps? To be honest, I don’t. But whatever, I still made one in the spirit of childishness. 4/ Mix your paint (I used acrylic paint mixed with a fabric medium, but I honestly think plain acrylics would be fine for this project) and get stamping! 5/ Pick out some sweet buttons, 6/ decide on your layout and sew them on.

Hang them up and you’re done!

Image

Did I mention that they gave us orange blinds?
Image
That was thoughtful.

I was planning on saying to you guys, ‘how easy/simple/straightforward/quick was that?!’ But that would be lying. Because I made these over a course of about a month, in between long periods of procrastination.

Worth it.
Amy, xo.

5 thoughts on “DIY: Criss-Cross Flags

  1. Pingback: August.. | AmyXo

Leave a Reply!

